Bananas Again?

Rice Cooker Banana Bread

Remember all the funky stuff you can make in a rice cooker from this post back in October? I went ahead and made the banana bread in my Tatung rice cooker. I followed the recipe that links to the banana bread.

Rice Cooker Banana Bread!

Rice Cooker Banana Bread!

Here’s how it turned out. I did have a problem trying to take it out, so I just left it in the metal tin and served the bread that way. The bread seems puffier than baked banana bread, and the taste is slightly different. For some reason, it makes me feel healthier. Anyhow, it was steamed instead of baked.Maybe that’s why it gave me the illusion of being healthier.

Thanksgiving Turkey Cake

Remember that turkey decoration on the cake in “Cake it Up for Thanksgiving“?

Inside Cake

Layers: Strawberry, Icing, Red Velvet, More Icing

Here’s a picture of the slicked cake. As you can see, I used two layers with a layer of icing in between the two layers to glue the two layers together. Normally, you’d use the same flavor for both layers, but I didn’t have enough out of cake mix for two layers of the same flavor and ended up with a layer of strawberry and a layer of red velvet.  I may have overkilled on the icing on the top of the cake to get the decorations of the turkey on.

—–

More Bananas!

I have too many bananas. I need to stop buying them from Costco…<.<

Two Different Chocolate Chip Banana Breads

Two Different Chocolate Chip Banana Breads

Dried Cranberry Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/4 cup all purpose flour (bread flour might work better)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • A dash of salt
  • 1 cup over-ripe bananas, mashed (I mashed about 3 whole bananas)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup  yogurt
  • 1/4 cup  oil
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries (This works for blueberries and other dried fruits too. I have not tried fresh fruits with this recipe.)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Mix all the wet ingredients (bananas, olive oil, egg, vanilla extract, yogurt. I did not have an electric mixer or whisk, so I just used a straight wooden turner. )
  3. Slowly add the dry ingredients a little bit at a time to the mix.  Add sugar, baking soda, flour, salt. (Having a mixer will make combining the dry and wet ingredients faster and easier.)
  4. Mix in cranberries and chocolate chips.
  5. If you don’t have a nonstick pan, apply non-stick spray to a 9″ x 5″ loaf pan. I just lined the inside of the pan with aluminum foil. Parchment paper may be better because the bread doesn’t stick to the paper. It sticks for the foil.
  6. Pour batter inside.
  7. Bake bread in oven for about 45 minutes , or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean.
  8. Let the bread rest in pan and then cool.

—–

Banana Bread (Add Chocolate Chips etc if you’d like)

Personally, I like this recipe better than the Cranberry one above, but Chocolate Banana Bread from August’s “OMG! Overripe Bananaaaas! Oops!” post is still hard to beat… it does have more chocolate…although I will admit that recipe did confuse some of my coworkers. One coworker said he expected brownie because it looked like a brownie, but it was bread.

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 cup all purpose flour (bread flour might work better)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • A dash of salt
  • 3/4 cup over-ripe bananas, mashed (I still mashed about 3 whole bananas)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Optional (you can add chocolate chips too. I’ve done this, and it’s good ;D)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Mix all the wet ingredients
  3. Slowly add the dry ingredients a little bit at a time to the mix.
  4. If you don’t have a nonstick pan, apply non-stick spray to a 4″ x 8″ loaf pan. I just lined the inside of the pan with aluminum foil. Another time, I lined with parchment paper. The benefit is that the bread won’t stick to the parchment paper while it will stick to the aluminum foil. The foil’s advantage is that you can just wrap it around the banana bread and pack it. Can’t do that with the parchment paper because it might rip and it doesn’t stay folded.
  5. Pour batter inside.
  6. Bake bread in oven for about 1 hour , or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean.
  7. Let the bread rest in pan and then cool.

3 thoughts on “Bananas Again?

  1. Pingback: Cake It Up for Thanksgiving! | Improv Artz

  2. Pingback: Rice Cooker Laziness | Improv Artz

  3. Pingback: OMG! Overripe Bananaaaaas! Oops! | Improv Artz

Leave a comment