Pumpkin Swiss Roll

Swiss rolls are pretty good, and while trying to figure out how to not waste a pumpkin, I stumbled upon SquishyMonster’s recipe of a pumpkin roll cake. If you want to see my “carve pumpkin attempt” from last year and how to get a pumpkin ready for carving, click here.

But first, in order to use pumpkin for pie or cake stuff, you need to get it into puree form.

Pumpkin Puree

  1. After you get all the stringy stuff and seeds out of your pumpkin, you’ll need to cut the pumpkin into pieces.

IMG_0476

2. Then if you want, you can to coat the outside of the pumpkin with some oil. I used avocado oil because that was what I had on hand. Alternatively, you can skip the oil. Honestly, I tried with and without the oil, and I didn’t see any difference in my case. I know some people say there is a difference.

3. Anyhow, then you bake the pumpkin! 350 F for at least 40 min. It also depends on the size of your pumpkin. You know it’s done baking when it’s soft and you can stab it with a fork and scoop it out.

IMG_0478

4. Scoop the soft stuff out and start mashing! Toss the rind. Be careful! You may get splashed while masking ! It gets watery! I didn’t have a very powerful food processor, so I mashed before blending it in my mixer.  You’re done and ready to use the pumpkin puree now! 🙂

IMG_0480IMG_0477

Pumpkin Swiss Roll

IMG_0511

This is from SquishyMonster’s blog. But since I never seem to have all the ingredients, I made some modifications. Anyhow, most of the wording is the same.

Ingredients
  • ¾ flour
  • 3/4 ish  ts baking soda
  • 1½ ts McCormick pumpkin pie spice
  • ¼ish ts salt
  • 3  eggs
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 ts pure vanilla extract
  • ⅔ cup pumpkin puree
Filling:
  • 8 oz room temperature cream cheese
  • 4 oz room temperature butter
  • 1 tb heavy cream
  • 1 ts vanilla extract
  • 1 ts McCormick pumpkin pie spice(honestly, I just dumped some..not sure if I really used 1 ts per Squishy’s recipe)
  • ¼ ts salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar(I always put less sugar because my friends don’t like stuff to be too sweet, but if you want it sweeter, you can put in more)
Instructions
1. In the first bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, pumpkin spice, and salt.
2. In the second bowl, crack in the eggs and blend them together with both sugars. Splash in the vanilla and blend in the pumpkin.
3. Combine the first and second bowl slowly. Stir until just combined and don’t over mix.

IMG_05054. Line a baking sheet with parchment and evenly spread the batter.

IMG_05065. Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes.

6. While the cake is baking, create the filling by blending the cream cheese, butter, cream, pumpkin spice, salt, and sugar until light and fluffy. I hit a snag because my cream cheese and butter just didn’t want to melt and get soft enough. I also did not use a blender. If you have one, that might be a good thing…or let your cream cheese and butter sit outside for a while until they are really soft.

IMG_05087. When the cake is baked, lift out of the pan and roll to “train” the cake to stay in the rolled shape. Allow to cool.

8. When the cake is completely cooled, peel off the parchment and spread the filling all over, leaving about an inch of a border all around. Re-roll (as tightly as you can without tearing) and slice to serve. The ends of the roll might look ugly (mine did) because not enough filling. So, just cut a piece off each end, and it should look perfect 🙂IMG_0509IMG_0507

Enjoy!

Leave a comment